+3
FairyNinjaStar
Lazahhh
Cheerioes
7 posters

Go down

Opinions In Chat Empty Opinions In Chat

Post by Cheerioes 7/7/2014, 12:05 am

Don't know if there's a post already related to this, but this has been mulling on my mind for a bit, and decided to share it.

A couple of days ago, and I will not point fingers, call out names, or put the blame on anyone, but there were some hard-hitting name calling and opinion blazing in Oasis chat. What I mean by this is that someone was disclosing personal opinions that they felt strongly about into chat, and then getting called out and name-called for them. This upset said person's feelings and lead to a warning after threatening to break rules (and perhaps she/he did, I have no knowledge of this).

I am upset that by first of all, most of these players involved were full-grown adults and active players in the community. To see that they went so far as to attack another's opinion is irreparable. We respect other players as community members and players, not someone who's opinion is open to be fired upon. I wasn't watching chat as I was on other tabs, but to come back onto MC and see what was being said was at the least, frightening.
We will all, or already have, debates in real life in school or class. The first thing the teacher says is 'do not take personal offense to anything said by the opposing team', and this goes for openly attacking the other on a personal level. We are all a mature server, and we personally know what makes us mad and what to avoid talking about in chat. It is better to leave anything you are emotionally attached to OUT of Oasis chat. This will, in no doubt, lead to unruly, disrespectable, and regrettable behavior. Things that get you fired up leads to clouded judgment, and later on, when you find yourself banned from the server, you'll be wondering why you said such things.