I've mined my final block. Thanks for the memories!

Go down

I've mined my final block. Thanks for the memories!  Empty I've mined my final block. Thanks for the memories!

Post by madscientist032 1/10/2022, 5:31 pm

Hi All, there's something I need to talk about with the community. I will do my best to make this short and to the point.

Oasis 1.18 will not be coming.

Instead, effective January 12th 2022, Oasis will be closing. This includes both the Minecraft server and our Discord.

This is not a decision I made lightly. I have been considering shutdown for a few years now but each time I'd go to pull the plug, we'd bounce back to life and things would be okay. This happened in both 2019 and 2020, before the 1.14 and 1.16 updates respectfully.

But as it stands, I am no longer able to give Oasis the TLC she needs to keep going. The effort going into Oasis has started to negatively creep into my work performance. Additionally, I have pressing & urgent family matters that need my attention & constant addressing. This means my lack of activity would not be fair to the staff team & community, and I had to make a choice to keep Oasis going, or to bite the bullet and move forward with life.

With that being said - I did consider transferring ownership, but with the server in her current state, it doesn't seem fair to load that on a new set of Owners. It made more sense for me to just close up shop.

So what does this mean for the immediate future?

Any pending applications (Member, Oasian, Staff, etc.) will not be looked at nor considered.

Any donations within the past 90 days will be refunded (with the exception of the October Donation Drive donations). Effective immediately. I am no longer accepting donations (the donation button has been removed from our forums). The remaining PayPal balance will go directly towards the Alzheimer's Foundation of America.