Minecraft Horse Project

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Minecraft Horse Project

Post by Cheerioes on 6/23/2014, 11:49 pm

Hello all! This morning, I was arranging my horsies in a most pleasing fashion, and I was thinking about horse speeds. For awhile I had questions of whether color mattered on horse speed, and what were the general  averages of horse speeds? I decided to catalogue all horse speeds by color, and then graph them and see what the results showed.

Horse speed vs. Color Frequency

Abstract:

For the experiment, I used a wild group of horses and two tamed control horses. The colors I studied were buckskin, flaxen/chestnut, bay, dark bay/liver, gray, white, and black. Using a lead, I am able to determine the random speed given to the horse by minecraft/plugin algorithm. We have two different speeds, an old, or actual speed, and the new speed updated by a recent minecraft and server update. I decided to use the older speeds, deemed the actual speed, and used a formula to convert all current speeds to the old speed. I gathered speeds from about 180 horses, all wild, separating the data by color. I did not discern markings on the horses, rather using the base color to sort speeds.

Control:

When the lead-speed plugin first came out, there was an original speed given to all horses. The highest range of speeds found before was almost 10, while the lowest speed ranged to around 4. This number was disrupted by a recent update, where speeds found by a lead were radically stratified, causing some confusion and the original scale to be disrupted. However, original speed of a horse was still found in a portable saddle.