Real talk about [JrMod] for a moment.

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Real talk about [JrMod] for a moment.

Post by ChaosTheoryJRH on 5/22/2016, 6:32 pm

Hello everyone.
Most of you know me, some of you don't.
I'm Chaos, or Justin. I used to be an Admin here.

Before we begin, please see this thread from a while back:
http://oasis-smp.forumotion.com/t9592p25-new-name-for-guide#47118

Introductions out of the way, we need to have a discussion. When I was staff here, our titles went through a few changes. We used to have OwnerTeam and SuperAdmins once, but that was done away with because of a) Airlay came back, and b) the redundancy of the title [SuperAdmin].

What most of you know as JrMod used to be known as Guide. I'll be the first to admit that Guides were not there to guide anyone.
Guide was basically a rank to see how well you'd do as a member of staff, you were there to help people and to monitor the server and it's activity.

We had a discussion once about changing the name of Guide, and I was one of the biggest opponents to the title JrMod. As you can see from the thread I posted, JrMod actually got zero votes. While Monitor had the most.

The connotation behind "Jr" is that of someone who would do duties related to that of what a Mod does. However this isn't the case.
Of course both ranks help people and response to griefs, but so does Admin.
A Mod moderates the server, a Mod implements warps and does world edits when needed.
An Admin is the administrator. They have access to console and can edit and control plugins.
A JrMod doesn't do anything related to that. A JrMod is here to help the community on a more personal level. More of a one on one type of help.

I am by no means putting down JrMods as people or as staff. JrMods are wonderful parts of the community and they do their jobs well.
I am however saying that the title itself is a complete misdirection of who they are, and one that honestly upsets me.